Facebook Flickr Twitter YouTube Itunes   Stumbleupon   Digg


Lord Alfred Tennyson

Alfred Tennyson was the fourth son of a Rector, born in AD1809, at Somersby Rectory, Lincolnshire, England.

He attended Louth Grammar School, and later attended Trinity College, Cambridge (AD1827). Tennyson became Poet Laureate in AD1850 which was to send his work into a wider public domain, praised by Queen Victoria. He was well received despite earlier critical reviews. He married Emily Sarah Sellywood in AD1850, and moved to two residences, Farringford (The Isle of Wight) and Aldworth (Sussex), where he spent much of his time.

Tennyson’s work was varied from poetry to the fashionable novelette. His association with Arthurian Legend commenced with the first instalment of the‘Idylls of the King’ in AD1859, finally completed in AD1885, with later additions to the series including amongst the most notable works Geraint and Enid, Lancelot and Elaine. A retrospective view of Tennyson’s Arthurian work has led to the view that it is a work that truly reflects the Victorian period with a severe morality alongside the codes of chivalry producing an air of contained reserved enthusiasm. Critics though considered the descriptive passages to be a reflection of Tennyson’s artistry and it is for this that the Idylls of the King is most revered.


Other work by Tennyson
Poems Chiefly Lyrical’ (AD1830)
Poems’, inc. Oenone, Lady of Shallott, The Lotus Eaters (AD1833)
‘Poems’, revised, (AD1842)
The Princess’ (AD1847)
In Memoriam’, to Arthur Hallam, (AD1850)
Maud; a Monodrama’ (AD1855)
Enoch Arden’ (AD1864)
Locksley Hall Sixty Years After’ (AD1886)
To Virgil, Tiresias’ (c.AD1884)
Rizpah’ (c.AD1884)
Crossing the Bar’, last poem, (AD1889)